Last Name, First Office Office Hours Email
Aronova,
Elena
Associate Professor
Area: History of Science
HSSB 4215By appointmentearonova@history.ucsb.edu
Barbieri,
Anthony
Professor
Area: Social, Economic, Legal, and Material Culture History of Ancient China
HSSB 4225over Zoom, Tuesdays 12:30-2:30abarbieri@history.ucsb.edu
Bergstrom,
Randy
Associate Professor
Area: History of U.S. Public Policy, Public History
HSSB 4216Wednesday 1-3 pm bergstro@history.ucsb.edu
Bernstein,
Hilary
Professor
Area: Early Modern France; Renaissance Europe
HSSB 4235By appointment--please email mebernstein@history.ucsb.edu
Blumenthal,
Debra
Associate Professor
Area: Medieval/Early Modern Spain, Premodern Mediterranean, Comparative Slavery, Gender History, History of Medicine
HSSB 3256T 10-11 AM (in person); F 10:30-11:30 via ZOOMblumenthal@history.ucsb.edu
Bouley,
Brad
Associate Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, Histories of Science and Religion
HSSB 4237T 12-2 pmbouley@history.ucsb.edu
Case,
Sarah
Continuing lecturer/Editor, The Public Historian
Area: US Women, US South, Public History
HSSB 3207Fall 2022: Monday and Friday, 12-1pmscase@history.ucsb.edu
Castillo-Muñoz,
Verónica
Associate Professor
Area: Mexican History; Chicanx History; The U.S.-Mexico Border; Transnational History; Chicano History; Gender, and Women's History
HSSB 4238Zoom Office hourscastillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu
Chattopadhyaya,
Utathya
Assistant Professor
Area: Modern South Asia, British Empire, Indian Ocean World, Global History, Commodities, Agrarian History
HSSB 4220On Research Leave till Fall 2022utathya@history.ucsb.edu
Chavez-Garcia,
Miroslava
Professor
Area: Chicana/o History, Race & Gender, Immigration & the Borderlands, Juvenile Justice, U.S. Women of Color, 19th Century California
HSSB 4260Weds., 1-3, & by Appt.mchavezgarcia@history.ucsb.edu
Chikowero,
Mhoze
Associate Professor
Area: African History
HSSB 4253Thursday. 10:00-12:00 noonchikowero@history.ucsb.edu
Cobo Betancourt,
Juan
Assistant Professor
Area: Colonial Latin America, Digital History
HSSB 4224T 10am-noon. Book here: http://bit.ly/cobo-hoursjcobo@history.ucsb.edu
Covo,
Manuel
Associate Professor
Area: 18th century France, Atlantic World, Caribbean, Early America, Revolutions
HSSB 4221By appointmentmcovo@history.ucsb.edu
Digeser,
Elizabeth DePalma
Professor
Area: Ancient Rome, Late Antiquity
HSSB 4257on sabbatical through the end of W '23edigeser@ucsb.edu
Edgar,
Adrienne
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Area: 20th Century Russia, Central Asia
HSSB 4212Mondays 11 a.m.-1 p.m. or by appointmentedgar@history.ucsb.edu
English,
Edward D.
Executive Director Medieval Studies Program and Adjunct Associate Professor
Area: Medieval History especially Italy
HSSB 5058english@history.ucsb.edu
Henderson,
Jarett
Lecturer
Area: Queer History, British North America, Comparative Histories of Settler Colonialism
HSSB 4218 W 11AM-12PM + Th 12:30-1:30PMjhenderson@history.ucsb.edu
Jacobson,
Lisa
Associate Professor
Area: U.S. Social and Cultural History
HSSB 4232In-person: Th, 3:30-5:00PM; Zoom: M, 3:30-4:30PMjacobson@history.ucsb.edu
Lansing,
Carol
Professor
Area: Medieval Italian social, cultural and religious history, with an emphasis on gender.
HSSB 4251M 12-2 and appts.lansing@history.ucsb.edu
Laurent-Perrault,
Evelyne
Assistant Professor
Area: African Diaspora, Colonial Latin America and the Caribbean
HSSB 4226On leave 2021-2022elaurentperrault@history.ucsb.edu
Lee,
John W.I.
Professor
Area: Ancient Greece & Achaemenid Persia; African American Classical Scholarship
HSSB 4210in-person and Zoom meetings by appointmentjwilee@history.ucsb.edu
Majewski,
John
Professor
Area: Nineteenth Century U.S.
HSSB 4255W 1:00-2;00 PM; TH 1:00-3:00 PMmajewski@history.ucsb.edu
Marcuse,
Harold
Professor
Area: Modern German History, Public History
HSSB 4222Fall 2022: Tue 4-5pm; Wed 1-2pmmarcuse@ucsb.edu
McCray,
W. Patrick
Professor
Area: Modern Technology & Science
HSSB 3251pmccray@history.ucsb.edu
McDonald,
Kate
Associate Professor
Area: Modern Japan and the Japanese Empire, History of Technology
HSSB 4236W, 1-145pm; Th, 2-315pm.kmcdonald@history.ucsb.edu
Méndez Gastelumendi,
Cecilia
Professor
Area: Latin America
HSSB 4219mendez@history.ucsb.edu
Miescher,
Stephan F.
Professor and Chair
Area: Africa, gender, masculinities, history of development and technology, oral history
HSSB 4213W: 10:00-12:00 ammiescher@ucsb.edu
Moore,
Katie
Assistant Professor
Area: Early America, Atlantic World, History of Capitalism
HSSB 4214On leave until Spring 2023katiemoore@ucsb.edu
Moore,
Taylor M.
Assistant Professor (Effective July 1, 2022)
Area: Modern Middle East; Histories of Science, Technology, and Medicine; Critical Race and Gender Studies
tmmoore@ucsb.edu
O'Connor,
Alice
Professor and Director, UCSB Blum Center on Poverty, Inequality, and Democracy
Area: United States, Public Policy
HSSB 3252On leave AY 2021-22aoconnor@ucsb.edu
Perrone,
Giuliana
Assistant Professor
Area: 19th Century U.S. History, Slavery, Law, Civil War & Reconstruction
HSSB 4217Tuesday 2-4pm and by appointmentgperrone@ucsb.edu
Rappaport,
Erika
Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Area: Modern Britain and the British Empire, Gender History, History of Capitalism, Urban History
4259By appointmentrappaport@history.ucsb.edu
Roberts,
Luke
Professor
Area: Japanese History
HSSB 4228Th 3:00-4:00 and by Zoom appointmentlukerobt@history.ucsb.edu
Sabra,
Adam
Professor and King Abdul Aziz Ibn Saud Chair in Islamic Studies
Area: Pre-Modern Middle East
HSSB 3260M, 3:00-5:00pm, on Zoomasabra@history.ucsb.edu
Seikaly,
Sherene
Associate Professor
Area: Modern Middle East
ZoomT 3-6 pm by appointment sseikaly@ucsb.edu
Sonnino,
Paul
Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, Historiography
HSSB 3258 by appointment, please e-mail me to arrange sonnino@history.ucsb.edu
Spickard,
Paul
Distinguished Professor
Area: Comparative Race and Ethnicity, US Social and Cultural History (17th-21st centuries), World History, Migrations and Identities
HSSB 4259Wednesdays, 10:00-11:45spickard@history.ucsb.edu
Stein,
David
Assistant Professor
Area: Modern U.S. History, Political Economy, Social Movements, Public Policy, Civil Rights Movement, Mass Incarceration
HSSB 4239By appointmentdavidstein@ucsb.edu
Ware,
Butch
Associate Professor
Area: West Africa, Islamic Knowledge & Spirituality, African Diaspora
HSSB 3259By appointment only until Springbware@history.ucsb.edu
Yaqub,
Salim
Professor
Area: History of U.S. Foreign Relations
HSSB 4233Thursday, 10 am – noonsyaqub@history.ucsb.edu
Zheng,
Xiaowei
Associate Professor
Area: Modern China
HSSB 4231By Appointment on Wednesdayszheng@history.ucsb.edu
Zuo,
Ya
Associate Professor
Area: Middle and Late Imperial China
HSSB 4227M 4-6PM (on Zoom)yzuo@ucsb.edu