UCSB Santa Barbara Department of History logo

Undergraduate Awards & Fellowships

This award was created by the UCSB Alumni Association in memory of A. Russell Buchanan, Professor of History from 1936 to 1973. It is presented to a graduating senior majoring […]
The Dick Cook Memorial Award is presented to a graduate or undergraduate student who is outstanding in terms of service to the department. It is given in honor of Dick […]
In 2014, the UCSB chapter of Phi Beta Kappa created the Hal Drake Honor Key to honor emeritus Professor Hal Drake for his more than 40 years of service to […]
The History Associates Board Prize recognizes the best paper produced in the History Department’s Senior Honors seminar, as determined by the History Prizes Committee. Present and previous recipients: 2023 Marisol […]
This prize was created in 2011 to recognize the outstanding senior thesis written by a student in the History of Public Policy major. Present and previous recipients: 2023 Logan Alexander […]
The Margaret J. Straight Scholarship in American History is funded by the Mission Canyon Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. This award goes to a Junior who is a […]
The Marion Ramstad Scholarship in History is to benefit the educational experience of UCSB undergraduates who are declared majors in European or Asian history. Marion Ramstad and her husband Dean […]
The Nicholas and Lena Dumas Essay Award in the History of Culture of the Greek People in Ancient and Medieval Times is given for the best undergraduate paper on a […]
Every year, about 5,000 students graduate from UCSB. A very small number of these are selected by the UCSB chapter of PHI BETA KAPPA to be offered membership in the […]
The Stuart L. Bernath Prize is awarded to the History undergraduate whose research paper is selected by the History Prizes Committee as the best paper produced in a one-quarter course. […]
The William E. Nida Scholarship is intended to provide a legacy for future generations of History teachers by encouraging quality undergraduate students to continue their education as history majors. Students must have […]